Radiation Safety Section
GREY_LINE (137 bytes)


The Radiation Safety staff directs and coordinates VCU's radiation safety program and is responsible for its day-to-day operation. Our staff oversees the use of radioactive material and radiation-producing devices on both campuses and is committed to keeping radiation doses for employees, students, patients, and visitors as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA).
GREY_LINE (137 bytes)
Hours of Operation and Location
The Radiation Safety section is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday throught Friday.  We are located in Sanger Hall, Room B2-012.  Our telephone numbers are:  828-9131 (Voice) and 828-1157 (FAX).  In case of emergency, please use our 24-hour emergency line, 828-9834.  After normal working hours, a staff member will be paged through VCUHS Telecommunications.

GREY_LINE (137 bytes)

Mary Beth Taormina Assistant Director/OEHS
Holly Dean Radiation Safety Supervisor
Beth Rosenberg Radiation Safety Specialist
John C. Carter Radiation Safety Technician, Sr.
GREY_LINE (137 bytes)
Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)
This committee, mandated by the VCU/MCVH Nuclear Regulatory Commission license, is charged with overseeing the use of licensed material and radiation-producing devices by identifying radiation safety problems; initiating, recommending, or providing corrective actions; and verifying the implementation of corrective actions.  The RSC is composed of faculty and staff from both VCU and the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals and meets once each calendar quarter.

GREY_LINE (137 bytes)
Useful Information

GREY_LINE (137 bytes)

Virginia Commonwealth University|Office of Environmental Health & Safety
1101 E. Marshall Street/Sanger Hall B2-012
P. O. Box 980112
Richmond, VA  23298-0112
(804) 828-9131

>>>Text Version

This page last updated 2/11/13.